Monday, July 15, 2024

Telangana poll on Nov 30, results Dec 3

Polling in assembly elections in Telangana will take place on November 30 and the results, along with other assembly elections, will be out on December 3. The election schedule for five states – Telangana, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pardesh, Rajasthan and Mizoram- was announced by Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar on Monday morning. The rules of poll conduct will come into force immediately.

While the polling will start in Mizoram on November 7, it will end with Telangana on November 30 and the results would be announced on December 3. Approximately 16/3 crore people will cast their votes in this round of elections which are widely seen as semi-finals taking place just months before 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Telangana, Madhya Pradesh,  Rajasthan and Mizoram  will have one day poll, Chattisgarh will have polling in two phases on 7 and 17 November. While the tenure of Mizoram assembly will end in December, the assemblies in Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan will have tenure till January, 2024. Madhya Pradesh would go to polls on 17th November while Rajasthan is slated to have polling on 23rd November. All the results will be declared on December 3.

In 2018 polls the Congress has bagged three major states. Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan voted for the Congress. While the Congress won 114 out of the total 230 seats, the BJP won 106. 116 is the majority mark. Kamal Nath of the Congress formed the government. But Jyothiraditya Scindia who was smarting under the domination of Kamal Nath and Digvijay Singh had left the Congress with some 20 legislators and joined the BJP enabling Shivraj Chowhan to form his fourth government.

In Chhattisgarh, the Congress won clear majority. It won 68 out of the total 90 seats while the BJP had won 15 seats. The Congress claimed a vote share of 43 percent. Bhupesh Baghel formed the government which has been stable.

In Rajasthan the Congress won 100 out of the total 200 seats, one seat less than majority mark. It was supported by BSP which had six members. The BJP had to sit in the opposition with 73 seats. Though there was a semblance of a revolt by the young Congress leader, it was half hearted and could not succeed. Gehlot continues to head the Congress government.

In Mizoram, the Mizo National Front had won 27 out of the total of 40 seats while the Congress won four and the BJP one and all other seats won by independents.

Telangana election notification will be issued on November 3. Nominations will be accepted till Nov 10. They will be scruitinised on Nov 13. The last date for the withdrawal of nomination will be Nov 15 Polling will take place on Nov 30 and the counting of votes and results on Dec.3.

K. Ramachandra Murthy
K. Ramachandra Murthy
Founder & Editor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles