Saturday, April 13, 2024

Manchu Vishnu elected MAA President

  • Prakash Raj loses by a margin of 107 votes
  • Only Srikant makes it from Prakash Raj’s panel
  • Majority of the office bearers and EC members are from Vishnu’s panel
  • Megastar appeals to members to be like part of a large family
  • Nagababu quits MAA

Hyderabad: Manchu Vishnu, son of Mohan Babu, has won against Prakash Raj in a big way in Maa elections. Movie Artists Association (MAA) has been in news for months this year since the elections were  very keenly fought. Vishnu was polled some 107 votes more than Prakash Raj. Only Srikant from the panel headed by Prakash Raj has won as executive vice president. All other important positions went to Vishnu’s panel. While Vishnu was polled 381 votes, Prakash Raj received 274.

While Manchu Vishnu won as President, Raghu Babu as General Secretary, Siva Balaji as treasurer, Banerjee and Madala Ravi as vice president, Srikant as executive vice president and Uttej and Gowtham Raju were elected as joint secretaries. Khayyum, Siva Reddy, Brahmaji, Kaushik, Suresh Kondeti, Sampoornesh and Anasuya were elected as Executive Committee members. Raghu Babu won against actress Jeevita by 27 votes and Siva Balaji got the better of Nagineedu for the post of treasurer by 67 votes. Srikant won over Babu Mohan as executive vice president by a margin of 106 votes.

Manchu Vishnu had hugged Prakash Raj and was seen in tears when the results were announced. Vishnu announced that this victory belongs to his father Mohan Babu. Election officer Krishna Mohan said the results of members of executive committee and vice presidents would be announced on Monday morning.

Chiranjeevi, Raghavendra Rao and others in pre-release audio function of Pelli Sandadi.

Chiranjeevi advised the film folks not to go for egos and bring bad name to the industry. Participating in the pre-release audio function of Pelli Sandadi, the megastar has said there is no need to fight for small positions. Whatever the result, we must all work together like a large family, Chiru said. If we call named each other, we will be looked down by the outsiders, he cautioned. He said we should not become a fodder to the media.  

In the meanwhile, Nagababu, younger brother of Chirajeevi, announced his resignation from MAA because of the regional and narrow mindedness in the organisation.

Telangana State cinematography minister Talasani Srinivas Yadav has congratulated all the office bearers who won elections today. He said the government would continue to cooperate with the new body.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles