Yogi’s Era Begins In UP, Hindutva Takes Centrestage

Lucknow: Yogi Adityanath’s era began on Sunday afternoon. Soon after the swearing-in ceremony was over, the new cabinet met and took a decision to implement the promise to waive farm loans.

The cabinet is a mixed bag. There are core RSS workers, BJP leaders, six women and a Muslim in the 47-member Cabinet including Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. Deputy CM Kesav Prasad Maurya followed the CM and another DCM Dinesh Sharma was the third to take oath.

Prominent among the ministers who were sworn-in by Governor Ram Naik was Rita Bahuguna Joshi, daughter of former UP Chief Minister, Hemavati Nandan Bahuguna and sister of Vijay Bahuguna, former CM of neighbouring Uttarakhand. She was PCC president until recently. Rita switched over to the BJP before the elections. She defeated APARNA, SP candidate and younger daughter-in-law of Mulayam Singh in Lucknow Cantonment constituency.

Lucknow’s 96-acre sprawling Smriti Upvan was decorated tastefully and the top brass of the BJP were present in the ceremony. Mohsin Raja, former cricketer, is the Muslim face in the Cabinet. Chetan Chauhan is another cricketer in the cabinet. Swamy Prasad Maurya, Satish Mahana, Rajesh Agarwal, Ashutosh Tandon and Sidharth Nath Singh, grandson of late PM Lal Bahadur Sastry, were other important ministers in yogi’s cabinet.

Although known as a hard face of Hindutva and a polarising leader, Adityanath promised to follow the line of ‘Sab Kaa Saath, Sab Kaa Vikaas.’ BJP has come to power after a gap of 15 years. None of the three top persons in the cabinet, the CM and the two DyCMs are members of either of the legislatures. They are members of Parliament. They have to get elected to Assembly or Council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.