TS to have 31 districts

  • 119 mandals and 21 revenue divisions to be added

Hyderabad: Telangana State Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao has sealed the number of districts in the State at 31. Though there have been demands galore for more and more districts, KCR said enough is enough and no new demands would be entertained. The report to be submitted by the high level committee headed by K Kesava Rao on the 7th would be a mere formality and the cabinet would meet on Friday and put its seal of approval on the proposal which was finalized after an elaborate exercise. The 17 new districts for which a notification was issued and the four other districts the proposals of which are under the consideration of the committee would amount to 21 new districts.  All the new districts would be inaugurated on Dasara day. Government would have own buildings for collectorates and Zilla Parishads inside one year. New Police Commissionarates and other offices are expected to start functioning on the auspicious day of Dasara. The State government would allot Rs 2 crore to each district for development of infrastructure.

Chief Minister KCR has on Wednesday approved the proposals to create 119 new mandals and 21 more revenue divisions in the State. The draft notification has only 60 mandals and 15 revenue divisions. 59 mandals and 10 divisions have been added following representations from the political leaders.

Clamour for names

After the number of districts has been finalized, the clamour for names has started. A bandh was observed in Ranga Reddy district on Wednesday demanding that the district be renamed as Shamshabad district. This demand was voiced by the general public also besides the political leaders. The activists of the Congress, BJP, TDP, YSRCP and MIM took part in the bandh. The leaders asked the CM not to consider the requests of an MP and a minister, but to listen to the public voice. Alampur MLA of the Congress party Sampath Kumar has been demanding that the new district of Gadwal be named Jogulamba district in the name of the presiding deity of the famous Alampur temple. He submitted a representation to the high power committee to this effect. Municipal Administration and IT Minister KT Rama Rao and Peddapalli MP Suman had discussion on creation of Sircilla districts. They suggested to Kesava Rao Committee that the new district may be named Rajanna district in the name of the famed Raja Rajeswara Swamy temple at Vemulavada. Vikarabad would be the name of another new district. KCR had dropped the idea of naming it Anantagiri district following the objection from the MIM. The proposed Asifabad district would be named after Komaram Bheem, the tribal hero.

There was a lot of activity at the residence of Kesava Rao where the high power committee had its meeting. Scores of leaders from Nizamabad, Warangal, Nalgonda and Mahabubnagar had submitted letters requesting for new districts or new mandals. The members of the committee have been receiving suggestions and objections with regards to mandals and revenue divisions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.