Trio win Nobel for work on molecular machines

Frenchman Jean-Pierre Sauvage, British-born Sir J Fraser Stoddart, and Dutch scientist Bernard L Feringa have been named  winners of Nobel Prize in chemistry for 2016.

Goran K Hansson, the General Secretary of The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, while announcing the laureates said on Wednesday that the prize was being given for the “designs and synthesis of molecular machines.”

The academy said molecular machines “will most likely be used in the development of things such as materials, sensors and energy storage systems.”

The Prize, worth 8 million kronor this year, will be given away to winners at ceremonies in Stockholm and Oslo on December 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.