To Which Party Nandyala Seat Belongs?

Nandyala: For the first time in AP politics, a tricky situation has arisen after the demise of sitting MLA Bhuma Nagi Reddy who represented Nandyala Constituency.

Bhuma Nagi Reddy won Nandyala seat on the YSRCP ticket in 2014 elections. Later he defected to ruling TDP in 2016. Technically he is listed as a YSRCP member in the Assembly. His status remained the same until he had breathed his last.

Now the question being asked after his demise is to which party Bhuma belonged? Opposition party YSRCP will stake a claim that Bhuma is still with their party, but ruling TDP will not agree with that argument. The tradition that has been established some years ago is that if a sitting MLA dies, the party to which the MLA belonged would field the candidate in the ensuring by-election and the candidate would win without contest. No other party would put up a candidate. We have seen the same during Allagadda, Nandigama and Tirupathi by-polls which were held due to demise of sitting or contesting candidates (Shobha Nagi Reddy died during election campaign, prior to polls).

An interesting contest will take place if both the parties field candidates in the upcoming by-poll which should be held within six months .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.