TDP leaders in AP set eyes on MLC posts as schedule is out

  • 21 seats to be filled in next three months

Dara Gopi

Amaravati: The leaders of the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) have set their eyes on the impending elections to the AP Legislative Council. The next three months, March, April and May, are set to see elections to fill 21 MLC seats in the State, including the prime slots of Council chairman, deputy chairman and whips.

Council chairman A Chakrapani of the Congress and the deputy chairman, S V Satish Kumar Reddy, are going to retire in April. While there is no way for Chakrapani getting elected as TDP wants the chairman post, the deputy chairman is lobbying his best for re-election and elevation as chairman.

Besides the chairman and deputy chairman posts, the Council will have to fill the post of the Chief Whip and the two whips, which are of cabinet rank. The ruling TDP is facing tough competition from its aspirants for these five posts.

This March will see retirement of MVS Sarma (Srikakulam-Vizianagaram- Visakhapatnam graduates constituency), Y Srinivasulu Reddy (Prakasam-Nellore-Chittoor graduatesa�� constituency), M Geyanand (Kadapa-Ananthapur-Kurnool graduates), V Balasubhrahmanyam (Prakasam-Nellore-Chittoor teachersa�� constituency), B Pullaiah (Kadapa-Ananthapur-Kurnool teachersa�� constituency).

The ruling TDP is determined to win these five seats a�� three graduates and two teachers constituency. The TDP has already cleared the names of KJ Reddy for Kadapa-Ananthapur-Kurnool graduatesa�� seat and B Pullaiah for the teachersa�� seat, leaving the north Andhra graduates seat to the ally BJP. Sitting MLC, Geyanand, backed by the CPI-M, is set to seek re-election from the graduatesa�� constituency, while the State Teachers Union is fielding K Narasimha Reddy for the teachers slot against sitting MLC Pullaiah. AP Teachers Federation too is fielding its candidate, Raghuramaiah here making it a triangular contest. The TDP has also cleared the name of V Pattabhirami Reddy for Nellore-Prakasam-Chittoor graduatesa�� seat, while the UTF is fielding Srinivasula Reddy. For the teachersa�� constituency seat here, sitting MLC Balasubrahmanyam is set to seek the re-election, while the TDP is yet to name its candidate.

May is set to generate more heat in the State as there would be more seats falling vacant representing the MLAs and local bodies constituencies. With the TDP having a comfortable majority both in the Assembly and local bodies, the contest is likely to be one-sided except for one seat from the MLAs quota and a couple of seats in the local bodies quota from the Opposition YSR Congress.

The Progressive Democratic Front (PDF) represented by Balasubrahmanyam and Geyanand, has been playing key role in the Council since its re-formation in 2007, representing the issues concerning the people as the other parties, Congress and the TDP indulged in politics even in debates. This time, the big question is whether the PDF would make it to the Council or exit.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.