Sasikala Gets ‘Hat’, OPS ‘Electric Pole’

New Delhi: in their fight for late J Jayalalithaa’s RK Nagar seat as well as her political legacy, the warring factions have come up with slight variations in the name of the party. Since the Election Commission on Wednesday disallowed both the factions from using the name of the party and its election symbol, two leaves, they submitted their proposals to the EC. While the faction headed by former Chief Minister O Panneerselvam (OPS) changed the name to Amma AIADMK and the official faction led by Sasikala Natarajan as AIADMK Amma.

The EC ultimately granted the name, AIADMK Puratchi Talaivi Amma. The election symbol OPS faction got is ‘electric Pole’. The Sasikala group was granted the namer, AIADMK Amma and the election symbol of ‘hat’.

The by-poll for RK Nagar seat will be held on April 12. It was necessitated on account of Jayalalithaa’s death on 5 December 2016. E Madhusudanan is the candidate being fielded by OPS group while Sasikala’s nephew Dinakaran is in the fray on behalf of Sasikala group. Jayalalithaa’s niece Deepa Jayakumar is contesting as an independent. Gangai Samaram is the BJP candidate.

In the meanwhile super star Rajinikanth has issued a statement on Thursday saying that he would be neutral in the elections. This clarification was needed in the light of the BJP candidate meeting the legendary actor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.