Ruling TDP Wrests Three MLC Seats From Local Bodies

Amaravati: The ruling Telugu Desam Party had wrest all the three MLC seats from the local bodies results of which were out on Monday. The TDP had won Nellore, Kurnool and Kadapa MLC seats with a comfortable majority. Only in Kadapa, the TDP had tough fight from the Opposition YSR Congress.

In Nellore, TDP candidate Vakati Narayana Reddy defeated his rival Anam Vijayakumar Reddy of the YSR Congress by a margin of 87 votes. Minister for Municipal Administration P Narayana steered the party to victory here against the tough fight put up by the Opposition.

The death of legislator Bhuma Nagi Reddy had helped the TDP to win the Kurnool seat defeating Gowru Venkata Reddy of the YSR Congress here. TDP candidate Silpa Chakrapani Reddy emerged victorious with 56 votes majority. Though both Bhuma and Silpa families were rivals in the district politics right from the beginning, Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu was able to bring the two warring families together for the party’s victory.

In Kadapa, the YSR Congress had given a run for the TDP which had finally won the seat with 33 votes majority. The TDP candidate ‘B Tech’ Ravi had won the seat defeating the YSR Congress candidate and former minister Y S Vivekananda Reddy. Though the YSR Congress had taken the seat seriously it could not match the electoral manifestations of the ruling TDP.

The two parties have organized camps outside the State with the members of the local bodies, who are the voters for the elections. The YSR Congress, which claims comfortable majority in the three districts gave a tough fight till the last minute. The party did not contest the local body elections from Srikakulam, Chittoor, Ananthapur, West Godavari and East Godavari districts where the party has no strength. The ruling TDP had won these six seats, one each in Chittoor, Ananthapur, Srikakulam and West Godavari and two in East Godavari district. However, claiming enough numbers, the YSR Congress had contested the Kadapa, Kurnool and Nellore local body seats where the party lost.

Reacting to the party’s defeat in Nellore, Kurnool and Kadapa seats, YSR Congress chief Y S Jaganmohan Reddy said that Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu had mastered in purchasing votes in the elections. While admitting the party’s defeat in the three districts, he alleged that the TDP had won the seats with money and not votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.