Ram Nath Kovind Is The 14th President Of India

BJP-led NDA’s nominee led right from the first round of counting. He has been receiving congratulatory messages from all over the world.

New Delhi: Ram Nath Kovind, nominee of the ruling National Democratic Alliance, has been declared the 14th President of India. He defeated Meira Kumar, the candidate of the joint Opposition. While Kovind secured 65.5 percent of the votes polled, Meira got 34.35 percent.

Incumbent President Pranab Mukherjee, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, All-India BJP President Amit Shah, BJP patriarch and MP LK Advani, Congress Party chief Sonia Gandhi and Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Bannerjee were among those to congratulate the President-elect first.

Ram Nath Kovind will be the second Dalit President of the country after KR Narayanan. He will take oath on July 25. He will be administered the oath of office and secrecy by Chief Justice of India Jagdish Singh Khehar in the Central Hall of Parliament.

The counting for Presidential elections began sharp at 11 am on Thursday. Votes of the MPs were counted first, followed by those of the States in an alphabetical order.

Ram Nath Kovind was leading right from the first round, when counting of votes from Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Andhra Pradesh was completed. All the votes from Andhra Pradesh were polled in favour of the BJP-led NDA nominee.

Cross voting is said to have taken place in Gujarat, Assam, Goa, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh in favour of Ram Nath Kovind.

Result of the Presidential election was officially announced in the evening by Returning Officer Anoop Mishra.

Result of the Celebrations are on in the NDA nominee’s native village Paraukh in UP.

Responding to the result, Meira Kumar said she was not upset with the result. “I am a fighter, I fought for the belief and faith of majority of my countrymen and women,” she maintained while congratulating the winner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.