Rajendra Prasad Won MAA Elections

HYDERABAD: Senior Actor Rajendra Prasad, who got theA�backing of Chiranjeevi, Nagendra Babu and many of the small-time actors,A�won the elections and became the president of Movie Artists AssociationA�(MAA) in what is called a tough battle with his opponent Jayasudha, who got support of Senior actors such as Krishna, Vijaya Nirmala, MAA former President Murali Mohan, Krishnam Raju and others.

Rajendra Prasad got 85 votes majority over his rival who abstained from attendingA�the counting, probably sensing defeat. However,A�Actor Naresh, a close relative of Jayasudha,A�was present during counting.

Rajendra Prasad on getting the crown made startling revelations that he had gone through tough times of intense pressure, threats and accusations during the course of elections.

a�?Though many forces tried to single me out like that of Abhimanyu, I indeed, provedA�to be Arjun with complete mandate,a�? he said, adding that for next two years, heA�will serve the poor artists through MAA.

Mohan Babua��s daughter and actress Manchu Lakshmi Prasanna became Vice President unanimously, as there was no competition. Sivaji Raja became secretary by defeating Ali in the elections.

In a related development,A�Actor Sivaji Raja expressed discontent at comedian Ali for deceiving him. a�?Ali though promised to be out of fray, deliberately contested against me,a�? Raja said.

The MAA results were out with city civil court giving green signal. MAA former President Murali Mohan announced the results declaring Rajendra Prasad as his successor. Murali Mohan stated that despite the competition,A�the entire field is one to fight for the cause of poor and small-time actors. There are no differences among them,A�he said, adding that the MAA will work for the welfare of the artists.

In the list of winners Rajendra Prasad panel won all the four seats contested. This panel includes Rajendra Prasad, Sivaji Raja, Kadambari Kiran and E Sriram. And many of the members are from Jayasudha panel.

Sivaji Raja, member of Rajendra Prasad panel, won secretary seat. Jayasudha panel who won include a�� Parchuri Venkateswar Rao got 159 votes to become Treasurer, TanikellaBharani is elected executive secretary with 165 votes, Naresh and Raghu Babu are joint secretaries. Also, the executive committee comprises ofA� Benerjee, Brahmaji, Charmi, Rajeswar, A Sriram, Geethanjali, Harinath Babu, Hema, Jaki, Jayalakshmi, Kadambari Kiran, Narsing Yadav, Rajiv Kanakala, Sri Sashanka, Vidyasagar and others.

Earlier, the much hyped elections faced a stumbling block with Actor and Producer Kalyan moving to theA�High Court after being pulled up by city civil court, which slapped him 10,000 rupees penalty.

It may be noted that out of 702 votes, 394 turned out to exercise their franchise in the elections held on March 29. (NSS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.