Polling For President’s Election Begins

Elections for choosing the new and 14th President of India have commenced. Narendra Modi, Chandrababu Naidu and Chandrasekhara Rao have already cast their votes at their respective polling stations.

New Delhi: Polling has started on Monday morning for electing the 14th President of India. Prime Minister Narendra Modi was the first to cast his vote at the Parliament Hall.

Likewise, polling has also started at the two Union Territories and 28 State Assemblies, including Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. Electors will cast their votes till 5 pm on Monday. Counting will take place on Thursday.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu exercised his franchise at the polling centre in Assembly Hall at the capital city of Amaravati. Similarly, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao cast his vote inside the Assembly premises at Hyderabad. Respective Speakers of the Assemblies, Kodela Sivaprasada Rao and Madhusudana Chari too have exercised their franchise.

While Ram Nath Kovind is the ruling NDA candidate, Opposition parties have fielded Meira Kumar.

MPs are being given green ballot papers for voting and MLAs are getting pink ones. Votes polled using only the specific ink-filled special pens provided by Election Commission will be valid.

Law makers are voting in a total number of 32 polling centres. Thirty-three officials are acting as observers. Fifty-five MPs have taken special permission from the EC to cast their votes in their respective State Assemblies. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Mourya, apart from Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar are among these 55. All the three are continuing as MPs, pending their election to their respective State Assemblies. Five MLAs will be voting in the Parliament, while four will be voting in other State Assemblies.

Post the polling, all ballot boxes will be brought to Delhi for the counting on 20th of this month.

A total number of 4,896 voters will elect the President. Except the nominated members, all elected members are voters. The nominated comprise two Anglo-Indians members of the Lok Sabha and 12 of the Rajya Sabha. Members of State Councils too do not have a right to vote.

There are a total 233 Rajya Sabha, 543 Lok Sabha and 4,120 members who will be electing the President.

As elections are being held through a secret ballot, no party can issue a whip asking its members to vote for a particular candidate. Also, no candidate can reveal to whom they voted.

2 Responses

  1. July 17, 2017

    […] Vidyasagar Rao is expected to bag the nomination, as Venkaiah Naidu’s services are required for the fire-fighting operations on behalf of BJP and the NDA. Naidu’s ability in successfully putting forward arguments and counter-arguments and defending the government and party are well known.   More: Polling For President’s Election Begins […]

  2. July 17, 2017

    […] While Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu was the first to vote at exactly 10 am, he was followed by Assembly Speaker Kodela Sivaprasad Rao. Except for one or two legislators, all TDP MLAs voted within an hour of commencement of the vote. YSRCP MLAs came in later and completed the exercise by afternoon. At around 2 pm, Returning Officer Satyanarana declared the voting process as complete.  More: Polling For President’s Election Begins […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.