Polling For Electing The New President Of India Concludes

An overwhelming majority of voters exercised their franchise for choosing the 14th President of India. A few of them missed out, mainly because either they were indisposed or were outside the country.

New Delhi: Elections to elect the successor of incumbent President Pranab Mukherjee concluded on Monday at sharp 5 pm in Parliament at Delhi and all the 28 Assemblies and two Union Territories. Polling had commended atA�10 am on the day.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was the first to cast his vote at the Parliament Hall. Counting will take placeA�on Thursday.

NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind appears all set to win with a comfortable margin against his rival Meira Kumar of the combined Opposition.A� Incidentally,A�on Sunday, the eve of the Presidential election, Prime Minister had congratulated Ram Nath Kovind “in advance.a�?

MPs were given green ballot papers for voting and MLAs got pink ones. Votes were polled using only the specific ink-filled special pens provided by Election Commission of India.A�Invalid votes, if any, will be known once votes are counted on the 20th.

Law makers voted in a total number of 32 polling centres. Thirty-three officials acted as observers. Fifty-five MPs had taken special permission from the EC to cast their votes in their respective State legislatures.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and the Statea��s Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Mourya, apart from Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar are among the 55. All the three are continuing as MPs, pending their election from their respective States. Five MLAs voted in the Parliament, while four voted in other State Assemblies.

All ballot boxes from each State and Union Territory will be airlifted to Delhi on Tuesday for counting.

An overwhelming majority of 4,896 voters, comprising the Electoral College for electing the new President, exercised their franchise. A few of them could not. For example, in Telangana, AIMIM Floor Leader Akbaruddin Owaisi and TRS MLA Manohar Reddy did not participate in the polling. While Manohar is undergoing treatment in Apollo Hospitals at Hyderabad, Akbaruddin is in London.

Nominated members, comprising two Anglo-Indians members of the Lok Sabha and 12 of the Rajya Sabha, could not vote, as they are ineligible from exercising their franchise for Presidential elections. Members of State Councils too do not have a right to vote in these polls.

As elections are held through a secret ballot, no party issued a whip asking its members to vote for either Ram Nath Kovind or Meira Kumar. Though no candidate is expected to reveal who they have voted for, some of them did, though privately.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.