PDF MLC Candidates Gave Better Fight To The Ruling Combine


Amaravati: The just concluded MLC elections for three graduates and two teachers constituency had seen humiliating defeat for the ruling TDP. Though the TDP had won the local body MLC elections, where the voters are the elected members of the mandal parishad, zilla parishad and municipalities, the elections to the teachers and the graduates reflect the mood of the people as the voters are part of the general public. The teachers and the graduates have given hard time to the ruling combine.

The three graduate and two teachers constituencies cover nine out of 13 districts of the State and the defeat of the ruling combine here is something as anti-incumbency that the five States in the north have tasted in the recent elections. Including in Uttar Pradesh, the voters have defeated the ruling parties in the five States. Going by this trend the result from the 9 districts out of 13 districts projects a similar experience to the ruling combine here.  

The only face saving for the TDP-BJP combine was the victory of P V N Madhav from Visakhapatnam-Vizianagaram-Srikakulam graduates constituency. It was all because of the ground work that the BJP had done over the past one year. Keeping an eye on this seat, the BJP had enrolled a good number of graduates in the last year. AP BJP president and Visakhapatnam sitting MP K Haribabu, played key role in guiding the party ranks in enrolling the voters that had contributed for their victory.

In all the remaining two graduates and two teachers posts, the Progressive Democratic Forum (PDF) candidates and the YSR Congress nominee have won.

The Prime Post in February had predicted the results but for the one where PDF sitting MLC M Geyanand lost in the Ananthapur-Kurnool-Kadapa graduates seat. The YSR Congress nominee V Gopal Reddy won this seat defeating TDP candidate K J Reddy, Sitting MLC Geyanand secured third place here.

In Chittoor-Nellore-Prakasam graduates constituency, sitting MLC and PDF candidate backed by YSR Congress, Yandapalli Srinivasulu Reddy emerged victorious defeating TDP’s candidate V Pattabhirami Reddy. Another sitting MLC representing the teachers’ constituency from these three districts, V Balasubrahmanyam had retained the seat defeating TDP’s Vasudeva Naidu.

While YSR Congress chief Jagan Mohan Reddy had tasted defeat in his home turf, Kadapa, in the local body MLC elections, Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu had tasted defeat in the teachers and graduates constituencies representing Chittoor-Nellore-Prakasam constituencies.

The sitting MLC and TDP nominee B Pullaiah had lost the Ananthapur-Kadapa-Kurnool teachers’ seat to the PDF candidate Kathi Narasimha Reddy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.