What Is In Store For UP?

New Delhi: Will the elections in Uttar Pradesh throw up a fractured Assembly, as some of the exit polls predicted? Akhilesh Yadav now and Mayawati before him had the distinction of completing five-year terms. Otherwise, fractured verdict has been typical of India’s biggest, most important and the most complicated State for a quarter of a century.

Congress party had dominated the scene in UP till 1967 since the first Assembly was created in 1952. The first Assembly had 346 seats. Congress won the 1951 elections and elected Govind Vallabh Pant as the first chief minister. He was shifted to Delhi as Union Home Minister in December 1954.

Sampoornananda succeeded Pant. Kamalapati Tripathi revolted against Swaroopananda and unseated him in 1960. A crafty politician, Chandra Bhanu Gupta was made CM. He was succeeded in 1963 by Sucheta Kripalani, wife of Acharya Kripalani. She was the first woman CM.

Choudhury Charan Singh ended Congress monopoly and formed the first non-Congress government in 1967. In the election held in 1967, the Congress party could win only 199 seats in 425- member House. Bharatiya Jan Sangh ( later BJP) got 98 seats. Jat leader, who won the election from Chhaproli on Congress ticket with a huge majority, broke away from Congress and formed Bharathiya Kranti Dal(BKD). Socialist leader Ram Manohar Lohia and Jan Sangh leader Nanaji Deshmukh had supported Charan Singh who formed a coalition government called Samyukta Vidhayak Dal (SVD) government. It was a broad coalition backed by all anti-Congress forces from CPM on left to BJS on right. There were Swatantra Party, Republican Party, Praja Socialist Party and 22 independents.

After Charan Singh became the CM, uncertainty had set in UP. There were four chief ministers and two spells of President’s rule in four years. Charan Singh was a tall leaders with the backing of Jats, Yadavs and Muslims but he had destabilising forces within his ministry. The Samyukta Socialist Party had launched ‘Angrezi Hatao’ movement. Some ministers were arrested and they ultimately resigned. In 1968 Charan Singh resigned recommending dissolution of he House.

In the elections held in 1969, the Congress won 211 seats and CB Gupta formed the government. Charan Singh replaced Gupta within a year with the help of Indira Congress. Gupta was part of the Congress Syndicate. Kamalapati Tripathi, leader of Indira Congress had struck again. Governor Bezawada Gopal Reddy asked Charan Singh to resign. After another spell of President’s rule Tribhuvan Narayan Singh became the chief minister on winning elections. TN Singh failed to win a by-election in an Assembly constituency and had to resign. He was succeeded by kamalapati Tripathi. There was a revolt by Orovincial Armed Constabulary forcing Tripathi to quit in 1973. Garhwali leader Hemavati Nandan Bahuguna took over after yet another spell of President’s rule. Indira’ decond son Sanjay Gandhi forced Bahuguna to resign making way for Narayan Dutt Tiwari. Many State governments,including UP, were dismissed by Morarji Desai’s Janata government after it was sworn in 1977 after winning the post-Emergency elections. In the ensuing election Janata Party won 352 out of 425 seats. But there were differences in the question of chief ministership. Janata party president Chandrasekhar and Charan Singh had differences on this score. As a compromise candidate Ram Naresh Yadav was made the CM. Young Socialist leader Mulayam Singh Yadav was a minister in Naresh Yadav’s cabinet. Banarasi Das also had the satisfaction of sitting in chief ministerial chair vacated by Naresh Yadav. The Congress won the 1989 elections bagging 308 seats. VP Singh became the CM. He had to contend with unfriendly politicians and a volatile law and order situation. He had to quit making way for Sripathi Mishra.

After some more bouts of instability and Kamandal-Mandal friction emerged Mulayam Singh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party in 1992. In 1993 Mulayam became the CM with the help of BSP. After 1995 elections, Mayawati became the first Dalit CM of UP with the help of BJP. In 1997 the BJP entered into a pact with the BSP. But it did not last beyond one year.

Some more hiccups later, present Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh became UP Chief Minister in 2002. Then it was Mayawati and Akhilesh.it is to be seen what 2017 verdict would be.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.