Naidu Settles Dissidence, Dhulipalla To Be AP TDP Chief


Amaravati: The widespread dissidence in the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) over the Cabinet reshuffle is slowly settling down. Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu had taken serious note of the dissidence and had reportedly played his cards to calm down the sulking and protesting leaders.

According to the sources, the Chief Minister had decided on making senior leader Dhulipalla Narendra Kumar as the party AP president, the post held by K Kalavenkata Rao, who is now inducted into the Cabinet. The Chief Minister had already appointed Palle Raghunadha Reddy as the party chief whip replacing Kaluva Srinivasulu, who was taken into the new Cabinet. He had sent senior leaders to the sulking Bojjala Gopalakrishna Reddy who was dropped from the Cabinet.

Besides offering some benefits to the seniors, the Chief Minister is learned to have taken others to task. He had reportedly warned Chintamaneni Prabhakar and Bonda Umamaheswara Rao of serious repercussions if they failed to toe the party line. He had reportedly gave them a list of allegations against these leaders in which they were saved by him. The other seniors like Gorantla Butchaiah Chowdary, Bandaru Satyanarayana Murthy, Kagita Venkatrao, Modugula Venugopala Reddy, Payyavula Kesav, P Ramasubba Reddy and B K Pardhasaradhi too were offered better treatment by the party and government. It is said that these leaders have expressed satisfaction over the offers promised by the Chief Minister.

Ravela Kishore Babu, who was dropped from the Cabinet is said to be holding consultations with his supporters and some SC leaders in the State. He is said to be planning to quit the TDP and join the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) of Mayawati. It is said that he is holding consultatiosn with the Dalit groups in the State to take their views on his future course of action. Kishore Babu is planning to meet BSP chief soon, if he gets the support from the Dalit groups.

Meanwhile, Chandrababu Naidu had decided to hold his first Cabinet meeting on Tuesday at the Interim Secretariat. Though the chambers for the new Ministers are not ready yet, he had asked the Ministers to be available in the capital area.

The Chief Minister is understood to have decided to keep his ministers busy for the next two years. He is banking more on the new Ministers C Adinarayana Reddy and N Amarnatha Reddy to strengthen the party in the Rayalaseema region, while Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy and Kaluva Srinivasulu are picked up to counter the Opposition leader Y S Jaganmohan Reddy in the Assembly.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.