Naidu seeks “Bharat Ratna” for NTR

  • 34th TDP Foundation Day celebrated
  • Party workers exhorted to strive to achieve power in TS

HYDERABAD: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu today demanded that the Centre confer posthumously the covetous “ Bharat Ratna ” award on Nandamuri Taraka Ramarao (NTR), who founded Telugu Desam party on this day in 1982 and brought laurels to honest politicians. He said late NTR is a legendary figure, who left an indelible imprint on the minds of masses by ushering in welfare and development schemes for toiling peasants and workers. Chandrababu also pointed out that late NTR was the only person who brought his nine-month old party to power and assumed charge of chief minister of undivided Andhra Pradesh. He also recalled that the TDP played a pivotal role in national politics and emerged as the main Opposition party in Parliament.


Speaking at the 34th TDP Formation Day celebration at NTR Trust Bhavan here on Sunday, Chandrababu garlanded a bust sized statue of the late leader and unfurled the party flag. He said NTR deserves highest civilian award “ Bharat Ratna ” for bringing recognition to Telugu prominence across the world.

Chandrababu reiterated that the lower rung activists of the party should strive to bring TD to power in Telangana State. He also criticized TRS leadership for its dubious distinction on Hyderabad and Telangana development. Telangana is a rich State as the previous TD regime developed it, he said. “I am indebted to the activists, who sacrificed for the cause of the party and the party leadership will help financially the activists in distress and grief”, he said. People of the two Telugu States should go together for simultaneous development, he said.

Speaking on the occasion, Telangana TDP president L. Ramana called upon every party worker, women and youth to come forward and expose the misdeeds of the TRS government in Telangana. Senior leader and former minister Mothkupally Narsimhulu recalled that late NTR gave political life to him and others belonging to weaker sections in the undivided AP. He exhorted the party workers to leave no stone unturned for the victory of the party in the 2019 general elections. AP Minister Ayyanna Patrudu, MA Sharif, B Shobha Rani and others also spoke.

Later, the TDP supremo felicitated some party workers, who strove for strengthening the party. TDP Workers Welfare Fund coordinator Nara Lokesh, Malkajgiri MP Malla Reddy, MLAs Vivek, Maganti Gopinath, Sayanna, Krishna Rao, Ramakrishna Babu, MLCs VVV Chowdary, Arikela Narsa Reddy, Jupudi Prabhakar, party leaders Peddireddy Chandrasekhara Reddy, Vem Narendar Reddy, TD Janardhan Rao, Aravind Goud, Nannuri Narsi Reddy, LVSRK Prasad, Bilya Naik, ministers, elected representatives, party admirers and many party activists were present. (NSS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.