Lokesh, six others declared elected unanimous as MLCs

Amaravati: Telugu Desam national general secretary Nara Lokesh has been elected unanimous as MLC from the legislators quota. The AP Assembly secretary K Satyanarayana announced the unanimous election of the seven new MLCs from the Assembly quota on Friday.

Besides Lokesh, the TDP candidates Karanam Balaramakrishna Murthy, Pothula Suneetha, Dokka Manikya Varaprasada Rao and Bachula Arjanudu were elected unopposed. The YSR Congress nominees, Alla Nani and Gangula Prabhakara Reddy were also elected unopposed.

The new MLCs would take oath on March 29 as MLCs in the Council. The seven new MLCs were elected as sitting members K Pratibha Bharati, C Ramachandraiah, M Sudhakar Babu, S V Satish Kumar Reddy, P J C Sekhar Rao, Mohmmad Jani and B Chengal Rayudu, who are retiring on March 29.

It is a big gain for the ruling TDP as it had won five out of the seven seats, which were all belonged to the Opposition Congress. The election had also seen the Congress losing its Opposition status as Leader of Opposition, C Ramachandraiah, retiring this time. With his retirement, while the Congress is losing its Opposition status, the YSR Congress is set to wrest the Opposition status in the Council too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.