Left parties ask AP govt. to provide rehabilitation to Vamsadhara oustees

Dara Gopi

Vijayawada: In less than 24 hours after the oustees of the Vamsadhara Project held a violent protest at the project site in Srikakulam district, the Left parties in the State have rushed to their support and wrote an open letter to the government seeking proper rehabilitation.

The leaders of the CPI, CPI-M, New Democracy, MCPI, SUCI, CPIML Liberation, CPIML, Forward Block and Revolutionary Socialist Party, in an open letter cautioned the State government of dire consequences if the displaced families are properly rehabilitated and proper relief is not provided. They extended support to the agitation of the displaced families seeking rehabilitation as per the terms of the Land Acquisition Act 2013. The Left parties leaders asked the government to start the project work only after due rehabilitation of the displaced families.

The Left parties recalled the promise of Chandrababu Naidu during 2014 elections where he promised to pay an additional Rs 5 lakh compensation for acre to the displaced families. Having come to power, Chandrababu Naidu had gone back on the promise, they said. However, the people have been fighting for their rights, the Left leaders said and asserted that they would support the agitation of the people.

Stating that the government had issued GO on July 4, 2016 releasing Rs 421 crore for rehabilitation package, they regretted that not a single rupee was released till date, The government is yet to release the money, they said and quoted the statement of the district SP who held a meeting with the elders of the villages on January 21, 2017. The leaders took strong exception to the Minister for Youth Affairs, K Atchennaidu, for threatening the people against holding any protests in the area. CPM Secretary P Madhu, CPI secretary K Ramakrishna, New Democracy leader Y Sambasiva Rao, CPIML leader Gurram Vijayakumar, MCPI leader M Venkata Reddy, Liberation leader B Bangarraju, CPIML New Democracy leader Ch Venkateswarlu, SUCI leader B S Amarnath, Forward Block leader P V Sundararama Raju and RSP leader Janaki Ramulu singed the open letter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.