Kohli Beats Bradman, Dravid Record, Hits 4 Double Tons

Hyderabad: Indian Cricket Captain Virat Kohli has sent a danger signal to his Australian counterpart by scoring a double century against the visiting Bangladesh team on Friday here. He became the first Test cricketer in the world to score four double centuries in as many series consecutively. He surpassed the record set by Sir Don Bradman and Rahul Dravid. Both of them had made three double tons in three successive series.

Australia is going to start a four-Test series against India on February 23. The Australians must be wondering as to how to bowl to the seemingly invincible Indian star batsman. Kohli has been in the top of the world in the current season.

The Hyderabad innings cannot be construed as the best effort by the brilliant batsman. His double ton in Mumbai last year was truly magnificent. He made 265 against England through superb shots. He was not fluent in his strokes on Friday particularly while playing Bangladesh spinners. The Decision Review System (DRS) came to his rescue when he was on 180 when he was given out off Mehadi Hassan. He did not seek its help when he was adjudged out when on 204. Had he appealed it would have been upheld by the DRS. Kohli converted his century to 150-plus for the fifth consecutive time. The Indian captain has also beaten Virendra Sehwag record of highest aggregation of runs in home series. Sehwag had made 1105 runs in 2004-05 Test cricketing year with four centuries and three half centuries at an average of 69.06 runs. Kohli on his part has so far played 15 innings in 2016-17 season and piled up 1168 runs with the help of four centuries and two half centuries.

India declared its first innings closed at 687/7 and put Bangladesh to bat. Bangladesh has lost one wicket for 41 runs in 14 overs at stumps on the second day. Opener Tamil Iqbal was batting at 24 and Mominul Haque was on one. Another opener Sowmya Sarkar was bowled by Umesh Yadav for 16. For India Wriddhiman Saha also scored a ton. Kohli won the toss on Thursday and elected to bat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.