Kiran Bedi loses to AAP candidate from Krishna Nagar

NEW DELHI: Ms. Kiran Bedi, the BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate in the Delhi Assembly elections 2015, lost from Krishna Nagar constituency to Aam Admi Party (AAP) nominee S. K. Bagga by a margin of 2508 votes.

Her defeat was the ultimate humiliation that Delhi voters heaped on the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on a day when the saffron party suffered near total decimation that dashed its hopes of forming a Kiran Bedi-led Government. Speaking after her party’s rout, Ms. Bedi said she had no plans to quit the party but added significantly that the BJP should introspect. “I have not lost, the party has lost”, she said in reference to her party winning just three seats against 67 won by AAP in the 70-member Delhi Assembly.

In contrast, AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal won his New Delhi Assembly seat by a whopping majority of 27,000 votes while the Congress party’s chief ministerial candidate Ajay Maken was trounced by his AAP rival from Sadar Bazar constituency by a massive margin of 30,000 votes amid a complete wipeout of the Grand Old Party in Delhi.

What makes Ms. Bedi defeat more painful for the BJP is the fact that Krishna Nagar was considered a safe seat for the party. It was a bastion of the BJP ever since 1993 with senior party leader and now Union Minister Harsh Vardhan winning the seat five consecutive times.

Ms. Bedi’s defeat was slightly unexpected as she was leading till the 13th round. However, the tide turned in the subsequent rounds in favour of AAP candidate, Mr. Bagga who ultimately won. He promised to do everything to develop Krishna Nagar constituency.

The 67 seats won by AAP are the highest ever for any single party in the Delhi Assembly elections.  The number far exceeded 51, the figure cited by party leader and noted pollster Yogendra Yadav.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.