Jagan hints at fielding candidate for Nandyala by-poll


Amaravati: YSR Congress president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy had hinted at fielding his party candidate for the by-election to be held for Nandyala Assembly constituency following the death of sitting MLA Bhuma Nagi Reddy.

In an informal interaction with the media persons, Jaganmohan Reddy said that the YSR Congress had won the Nandyala Assembly seat in the 2014 elections. The voters have backed the YSR Congress against the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), he said and condemned the legislator switching over loyalties to the ruling party. He alleged that Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu had engineered the defections by making promises, some in terms of money and some in terms of Cabinet berth. a�?Bhuma Nagi Reddy was promised a Cabinet berth in return to the defection. Chandrababu Naidu did not fulfill his promise but had put heavy pressure on Nagi Reddy for the MLC elections,a�? he alleged.

Jaganmohan Reddy said that the voters of Nandyala were behind the YSR Congress and would repeat the 2014 results by defeating the representatives of the defected and deceased legislator. The YSR Congress is planning in a big way in the Kurnool politics and had brought in the strong Gangula family into the party. The party had also made Gangula Prabhakar Reddy MLC in a short period after the family joined the party.

When the YSR Congress decides to field its candidate for the by-election, it would be mostly from the Gangula family or the one recommended by the family. More over victory in the by-election would be so important for the YSR Congress as that would reflect on the series of defections that the party had suffered over the 2016.

On its part, the ruling TDP is likely to field the son or the second daughter of the Bhuma couple. Son Vikhyat Reddy and younger daughter Mounika Reddy might be the choice of the ruling party. Whoever is in the fray, the election would be a tough task and very important for the ruling TDP too as that would have impact on the defection of the remaining 20 legislators.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.