High Court Issues Notices To MLAs Who Defected To Become Ministers

Four MLAs of AP, who got elected on the YSRCP ticket, crossed over to TDP and became ministers. Another in Telangana moved from TDP to TRS and bagged a coveted post.

Hyderabad: The Hyderabad High Court on Tuesday heard a Public Interest Litigation petition filed against elected representatives in Andhra Pradesh who crossed the floor and became ministers. The petitioner urged the judiciary to remove such people from their posts.

A journalist named Shiva Prasad Reddy filed a petition alleging that it is illegal for representatives, who get elected on one party ticket, to cross the floor later and become ministers. The advocate representing Shiva Prasad Reddy argued that under Article 164 (1B), it is illegal to appoint people who have crossed the floor.

The High Court, issuing notices to the four ministers, asked them to file a counter in four weeks. It also said that the case against Telangana Minister Talasani Srinivas Yadav will also be heard along with this case.

It may be recalled that N Amarnath Reddy, C Adinarayana Reddy, Rao Sujaykrishna Rangarao and Bhuma Akhila Priya, who won as MLAs on YSRCP B forms, crossed the floor and were sworn in as ministers in the Andhra Pradesh Government. Likewise, Talasani Srinivas Yadav won on the TDP ticket but joined TRS and became a minister.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.