Government Failure Has Led To Farmersa�� Suicides In Telangana, Says Congress

A Congress delegation has accused the TRS Government of failing to come to the rescue of the distressed farmers.

Hyderabad: A delegation of senior leaders led by Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy met Governor ESL NarasimhanA�on SaturdayA�and sought his intervention to help distressed farmers who needed cash immediately to invest in their Kharif crops.

The delegation submitted a memorandum to the Governor in which it demanded immediate redressal of farmersa�� problems. “Government failures in the agriculture sector are directly responsible for increasing farmers’ suicides in Telangana State,” charged Uttam Kumar Reddy in the memorandum.

Speaking to media after meeting the Governor, he said that the money farmers received by selling paddy to the government procurement agencies was locked up in banks. Banks were not allowing the farmers to withdraw their own money deposited citing lack of sufficient cash.

With this, farmers were forced to take private loans, which are pushing them into a debt trap. Lack of sufficient cash in rural branches of the banks has created immense difficulties for farmers and farm labour, the Congress leader pointed out.

“Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao has assured time and again that the government would pay interest on farm loans. But he has not done so, as the State Government has not released sufficient funds on time. Assurance of the Chief Minister has thus been belied,” he stated.

The TPCC Chief also complained that farmers, who were victims of under-quality seeds that either did not grow or bear fruits, have also not got any compensation from the seed companies. He said in the neighbouring Karnataka State, farmers were paid compensation by the government upfront, which it collected later from the seed companies. However, in Telangana, none of the farmers have ever got any compensation for seed failures.

The Congress delegation comprised of Leaders of Opposition K Jana Reddy (Assembly) and Mohammed Ali Shabbir (Council), ex-PCC President Ponnala Lakshmaiah, Kishan Kheth Mazdoor Congress chairman M Kodanda Reddy, MLAs J Geetha Reddy, G Chinna Reddy and DK Aruna, MLC Ponguleti Sudhakar Reddy, ex-union minister T Balram Naik and former minister Danam Nagender.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.