General and Optional holidays for 2017

  • Sundays and second Saturdays holidays for TS govt.

Hyderabad: The Government of Telangana has notified general and optional holidays for the year 2017. The State Government also directed that all its offices shall remain closed on Sundays and second Saturdays in all the months during the year 2017.

The State government also clarified that General Holidays shall not apply to industrial establishments and Public Undertakings under the control of the state government, the workmen engaged in Public Works Departments and Educational Institutions in the State. 


Bhogi  (January 13) , Republic Day (January 26), Maha Shivaratri (February 24), Ugadi (March 29) , Sri Rama Navami / Babu Jagjivan Ram’s Birthday  (April 5) , Good Friday / Dr.B.R.Ambedkar’s Birthday (April 14) , Eidul Fitar (June 26) , Following Day Of Ramzan  (June 27) , Bonalu (July 10) , Sri Krishna Astami (August 14) , Independence Day  (August 15), Vinayaka Chavithi  (August 25), Eidul Azha  (September 2) , Bathukamma Starting Day (September  20) , Durgastami (September 28) , Vijaya Dasami/Dussehra (September 30) , Mahtma Gandhi Jayanthi  (September 2) , Deepavali  (October18), Kartika Purnima/Guru Nanak’s Birthday (November 4), Eid Miladun Nabi (December 1), Christmas  (December 25) and Boxing Day (December 26)

The following festivals occur on Sunday and 2nd Saturday during the year 2017: Sankranti/Pongal (January 14) , Holi (March 12) , Shahadat Imam Hussain (A.S) 10th  Moharam, 1493 Hijri  (October 1)


Yaz Dahum Shareef (January 10) , Sri Panchami  (February 1), Birthday Of Hazrath Ali (A.S.) (April 11), Shab-E-Meraj (April 25), Basava Jayanthi (April 28), Buddha Purnima (May 10), Shab-e-barat (May12), Shahadat hzt ali (A.S.) (June 16), Juma-atul-wada / shab-e-Qader (June 23), Varalakshmi Vratham  (August 4), Sravana Purnima / Rakhi Purnima (August 7) , Parsi new year’s day (August 17), Maharnavami (September 29), Naraka Chaturdhi (October 17), Arbayeen (November 10).

The following festivals occur on second Saturdays and Sundays during the year 2017 are: New Year (January 1 , Kanumu (January 15), Birthday of hzt. Syed Mohammed Juvanpuri Mahdi ma’ud (A.S.)  (February 11), Mahaveer Jayanthi (April 9), Ratha Yathra (June 25), Eid-E-Ghadeer (September 10), Christmas Eve (December 24). Tamil New Year’s Day on 15.01.2015, 9th Moharram, (1439) Hijri on 30.09.2016 (which would have been Optional Holidays) are declared as General Holidays in view of Sankranti/Pongal and Vijaya Dasami respectively. Optional Holidays Juma-atul-wada/Shab-e-Qader (June 23, 2017) are falling on the same day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.