Energy efficiency schemes: AP bags two national awards

Delhi/Amaravati:  Andhra Pradesh has emerged as top State with implementation of energy efficiency schemes through LED technology and has achieved energy savings of around 1448 million units (MU), avoidable power generation of 550 MW   and an estimated financial savings of around Rs 670 crores, according to Piyush Goyal, Union Minister for Power, Coal and New and Renewable Energy.

Taking into consideration the impact of energy efficiency on environment as well as energy and economic savings, Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu has been supporting the energy conservation movement since June 2014 and became a champion of energy efficiency/conservation in the country and even attracted the attention of BRICS nations.

To support the vision of AP CM, the Centre has contemplated dual action plan for AP energy efficiency both in rural and urban areas. The Central government is keen to support AP in developing world class capital city of Amaravati and is firm to transform Amaravati as a global energy efficient and environmental friendly city.

On the occasion of National Energy Conservation Day on December 14, Piyush Goyal, who presented the 1st, 2nd & 3rd prizes to public and private sectors, for their contributions towards energy savings, in New Delhi on Wednesday, interacted separately with top officials of Southern States.

M.M. Naik, CMD /APEPDCL, and A. Chandra Sekhara Reddy, CEO, State Energy Conservation Mission, received the 1st prize under Best DISCOM Category and 2nd prize under Best State Designated Agencies (SDA) category respectively from Piyush Goyal during National Energy Conservation Award ceremony.

 The Union minister has congratulated Chandrababu in this regard and hailed AP for getting World Bank recognition as No.1 State in the country for its energy efficiency activities.

Digital transformational leadership award too

Meanwhile, K. Rajasekhar, Deputy Director General and State Informatics Officer, NIC-Andhra Pradesh State Centre, won the Digital Transformational Leadership Award-2016. He received the award at the recently held CeBIT India Global Conference in Bangalore.

Rajasekhar received the award under Technology Category for his innovative mobile technology-based Digital Transformational contribution to empower the village functionaries. The CeBIT India Global Conference was jointly organized by the Union Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology and Deut she Messe, Germany, co-hosted by STPI, and Karnataka State. Some 150 chief technology officers of industry all over the country competed for the award. -NSS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.