Council polls in AP, Telangana on Mar 16

HYDERABAD:  The Election Commission on Wednesday announced the schedule for the biennial elections to Teachers’ and Graduates’ constituencies in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

Elections will be held on March 16 to fill vacancies in two Teachers’ constituencies in AP and an equal number of Graduates’ constituencies in Telangana. This follows the retirement on March 29 of Mr. K. V. V. Satyanarayana Raju (Chaitanya Raju) from the East –West Godavari constituency and Mr. K. S. Lakshmana Rao from Krishna-Guntur Teachers’ constituency of AP.

In Telangana, Dr. K. Nageshwar representing Mahabubnagar – Rangareddy –-Hyderabad graduates constituency and Mr. K. Dileep Kumar who was elected from Warangal-Karamnagar- Nalgonda Graduates constituency will be retiring on the same date.

According to Mr. Dhirendra Ojha, Director of the Commission, the election notification will be issued on February 16. Following is the schedule: last date for filing nominations – February 26, scrutiny – Feb 27, last date for withdrawal – March 2, date of polling – March 16 ( 8 am to 4 pm) and counting of votes — March 19.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.