More Congress Leaders To Join YSR Congress?

Former Speaker Nadendla Manohar is holding talks with his supporters on joining the YSR Congress soon. There are several other leaders from the Congress who are looking at the Opposition party as an alternative.

Amaravati: Politics in Andhra Pradesh are changing at a greater speed these days. With less than two years for the next round of elections and there are enough indications from the ruling TDP on early polls, the leaders have began to look at the options before them for greener pastures. Several senior leaders from the Congress who see no future for the party in the State at least for next 10 years, are now in search of a comfortable place.

Sources said that senior leader and former Speaker, Nadendla Manohar, is now looking at the YSR Congress. Though he has been active after the partya��s debacle in the 2014 elections, he is now knocking at the doors of the YSR Congress with an eye on the next elections. It is said that he is in constant touch with the YSR Congress senior leader Botsa Satyanarayana and others for his entry, which might happen soon. He had set his eyes on the Tenali Assembly constituency for the 2019 elections.

Another senior leader and former minister Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy is also looking at the YSR Congress. His son Mahesh Reddy had already joined the YSR Congress last year and Krishna Reddy will take a few weeks time from now for his official entry into the party.

There are several other names that are doing rounds these days about the possible change of party. Interestingly, the defections also appear possible even from the ruling party, though not so early. Sources said that more than a dozen leaders from the ruling party are unhappy with the goings-on in the party and are looking at the YSR Congress. They include several MLAs, who have been speaking openly against the partya��s and government programmes these days. However, the names are likely to come out only after the first half of 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.