Bojjala Jumps Into TTD Race As Naidu Appoints North Indian As EO

A North Indian IAS officer was appointed as Executive Officer of the TTD for the first time. Sulking former minister Bojjala Gopalakrishna Reddy had jumps into the fray for the TTD chairman’s post, while Narasaraopet MP Rayapati Sambasiva Rao writes to Naidu seeking the post.

Amaravati: The race for the prestigious Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams (TTD) Board chairmanship turned quite interesting for the people to watch in Andhra Pradesh politics. The race has been between Rajamahendravaram MP M Murali Mohan and Narasaraopet MP Rayapati Sambasiva Rao till now. But, the sulking former minister from Chittoor, Bojjala Gopalakrishna Reddy had joined the fray making it quite interesting now.

Gopalakrishna Reddy, who is not happy with Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu for dropping him from the Cabinet on health grounds, had sent his resignation letter initially. However, he withdrew the resignation letter following the intervention of the senior leaders who had promised him due importance in the days to come. Now, with the TTD Board chairman post falling vacant as the term of incumbent Chadalavada Krishna Murthy ended last week, Bojjala threw his hat into the ring. His entry into the race had made the TTD post a triangular contest with Rayapati and Murali Mohan already fighting for it.

Meanwhile, Rayapati Sambasiva Rao had offered to quit his Lok Sabha seat if being MP he cannot be made the TTD Board chairman. In a letter to Naidu, the MP said he is ready to quit the MP post and take up TTD post. a�?If my MP position is seen as a hurdle to be posted as TTD Board chairman, I am ready to relinquish that post happily and take up the TTD post,a�? he said in his letter.

It was initially thought that Naidu would clear the names for the new Trust Board before he leaves for US tour on May 4. But caught up in the tough fight, Naidu may take time and begin the exercise only on his return.
In the meanwhile, Naidu has appointed a North Indian in the position of TTD Executive Officer. Anil Kumar Singhal who is presently the Resident Commissioner at AP Bhavan in Delhi was chosen for the coveted post. AP Government has issued orders to this effect on Monday. A number of senior IAS officers including the Chief Secretary had appealed to the CM to continue with the tradition of appointing only Telugus in the important position. But Naidu rejected the plea. IAS lobbies say the CM has succumbed to the pressure applied by a Central Minister. Singhal belongs to 1993 batch. He worked as a collector of Medak district. He is known as a good, straightforward officer. The present EO, D Sambasiva Rao, has been transferred to Commercial Taxes department as Special Principal Secretary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.