BJP To Form Govt. In Manipur

Imphal: The BJP claims to have the backing of 32 MLAs in Manipur Assembly of 60 members. Governor Najma Heptullah made it clear on Monday that she would start the process of the formation of new government only after Chief Minister Okram Obobi stepped down. He has agreed to submit his resignation on Tuesday.

Congress had emerged as the single largest party with 28 seats. It could not muster three more MLAs to reach the magic figure of 31. However, the BJP which got only 21 seats could cobble up a simple majority with the support of 11 MLAs. The National People’s Party headed by Conrad Sangma, son of late PA Sangma, former Lok Sabha Speaker, has four seats.

The Naga People’s Front has four seats. The Lok Janashakti Party headed by Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan has one MLA. Shyam Kumar, who won on the Congress ticket, had joined the BJP along with lone All India Trinamool Congress MLA. Assam Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma had confabulated with the MLAs and got the required numbers. BJP general secretary Ram Madhav has been coordinating the efforts. The Congress party was caught napping in the power game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.