BJP Sweeps Delhi MCD Polls, AAP Suffers Humiliating Defeat

BJP has retained its hold on the three municipal corporations in Delhi handing a humiliating defeat to AAP and Congress.

New Delhi: BJP has triumphed in the municipal election winning two thirds majority retaining all the three corporations. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)A� has suffered a humiliating defeat. The Congress has ended up in third position. While BJP president Amit Shah has profusely thanked the people of Delhi for reposing faith in his party, the leaders of AAP continued to blame the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

In all the three corporations there are 270 seats of which the BJP won 181 seats. AAP had to be content with 46 seats followed by the Congress in 31 seats. Independents won 22 seats. South Delhi has 104 seats of which 71 seats were bagged by the BJP and 15 by AAP and 12 by the Congress. There are 103 seats in North Delhi. BJP bagged 64 followed by AAP with 22 and the Congress with 14 seats. The East Delhi corporation has 63 seats. The BJP has won 46 seats while the AAP has bagged 9 seats and the Congress won 5 seats.

The BJP has demanded the resignation of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal for losing the municipal elections now and the Assembly by-poll held recently for Rajouri Garden seat. But the AAP leaders said there is no question of resignation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.