BJP Bags Uttarakhand

Dehradun: Uttarakhand has surprised political observers with its massive mandate to the BJP despite the party fielding more than a dozen defectors from the Congress party. Chief Minister Harish Rawat was defeated in both the constituencies he contested from.

BJP won 57 of the 79 seats in Uttarakhand Assembly. The Congress has got 11 seats and two seats were won by Independents. Former Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna’s son had won. It is a vote against the Congress dispensation which had been facing corruption charges.

The CBI had summoned Harish Rawat for questioning after a sting operation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.