Bhuma Nagireddy Dies Of Heart Attack

Nandyala: Bhuma Nagireddy, YSRCP MLA in Andhra Pradesh Assembly, died of heart attack on Sunday morning. He breathed his last at a hospital here after the doctors tried for more than two hours to bring into consciousness. His wife Shobha Nagireddy expired a few years ago in a car accident.

Bhuma Nagireddy was elected to Lok Sabha three times. He was elected to AP Assembly in 2014 elections from Nandyala constituency. Their daughter Akhilapriya also is an MLA who was elected from Allgadda in a by-election caused by the death of her mother.

Nagireddy was born at Kurnool on 8 January 1964. He was a cooperative society president when he joined active politics. He was first elected to Assembly in 1992. He won from Nandyala Lok Sabha constituency thrice in a row in 1996, 1998 and 1999. He lost to PV Narasimha Rao in 1996 and later won in the by-election after PV vacated the seat. He lost the election in 2004 and left the TDP. He joined PRP.

Both Nagireddy and Akhilapriya had defected to the ruling TDP about a year ago. It was reported that Nagireddy was keen in seeing his daughter become a minister. When Chief Minister Nara Chandrababu Naidu offered to make Nagireddy a minister, the latter asked Naidu to take Akhilapriya into the Cabinet. Nagireddy suffered a heavy heart attack in the wee hours when he was shifted to a local hospital at Allagadda. Then he was taken to Nandyala for better treatment.

Akhilapriya is in deep sorrow after losing both the parents at young age. Nagireddy did not recover from the shock of Shobha’s death. The Budget session of AP Assembly has been postponed by a day. Both the Houses would be adjourned on Monday to meet on Tuesday after paying tributes to Nagireddy. Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu is about to reach Allagadda. Opposition leader and YSRCP president YS Jagan Mohan Reddy has expressed his deep condolence to Akhilapriya. The family is very close to YS family. Though the father and daughter switched over to the TDP, their names remain in the list of YCP MLAs in the Assembly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.