AP to be a LED STATE within a year, CM launches program

Amaravathi: Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu launched the energy efficient LED tube light programme at his chambers at Velagapudi, as part of making AP the best energy efficient State. The State has agreed to install LED street lights in all the villages of entire State within a year, at an investment of Rs. 1200 crore for 30 lakh LED street lights and save 40 per cent energy in each gram panchayat.A�A�

Speaking on the occasion, Chandrababu Naidu said that the program would benefit the people in lowering their electricity bills. This would not only benefit common man but also helps in environment protection by reduction of carbon emissions, he added. In addition to the national record of being first state in the nation in distribution of 1 crore LED bulbs at nominal price of Rs.10 within a short span of 1 year and distribution of 2 crore LED bulbs till now, the government has devised strategies and policies to promote more energy efficiency programs in the state for socio economic development and overall well being of the people.

The Chief Minister reminisced that the state which was at a deficit position by 22 million units a day in June 2014 has now achieved self-sustainability in meeting energy demand and has become power surplus State. He further added that, as a part of its commitment towards promotion of energy efficiency in the state, the government was going to distribute LED bulbs, LED tube lights and energy efficient ceiling fans that function very effectively consuming very less electricity, at cheaper prices than open market. These energy efficient appliances will be distributed to the public in a phased manner through integrated counters in various places all over the state, he added.

Justice G Bhavani Prasad, Chairman APERC said that it was a privilege for the state to get national and international recognition in various fields of energy sector in general and energy efficiency in particular. The APERC has been extending full support to the noble cause of the government in promotion of energy efficiency and will continue its endeavor, he added.

Ministers Kinjarapu Achennaidu and P Narayana, Special Chief Secretary Dinesh Kumar, Chief Ministers principle secretary, Sai Prasad, energy principle secretary Ajay Jain, AP Transco CMD K Vijayanand, energy advisor, K Ranganatham, were present.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.