AP Cabinet Rejig: A Shameless, Listless Exercise, Violation Of Anti-Defection Law

Amaravati: The eleven ministers who were sworn in by Governor ESL Narasimhan have been picked up by Chief Minister Nara Chandrababu Naidu reportedly keeping in view 2019 election. The long awaited decision to induct Naidu’s son Nara Lokesh has been executed. Now Lokesh has to catch up with K Taraka Rama Rao (KTR), the rising son in neighbouring Telangana State.

There has been a criticism, valid to a great extent, that Kammas are dominating in the Cabinet and the other politically dominant community, Reddys, have not been given enough berths. Naidu has answered this criticism by taking four MLAs, three of them defectors, of this community from this community. Besides fulfilling the need to give representation to the community, the Chief Minister has also taken care to see that a Opposition leader YS Jagan Mohan Reddy is effectively checkmated in his own citadel of Pulivendula. Induction of Adinarayana Reddy, who defected from the YSRCP and who is representing Jammalamadugu, neighbouring constituency to Pulivendula, is noteworthy. There are unconfirmed reports that the CM is planning to get Pulivendula constituency bifurcated to fix Jagan. Akhilapriya, daughter of Bhuma Nagireddy who died of heart attack recently, was taken into the cabinet fulfilling a promise made to father and daughter at the time of their defection from YSRCP into the ruling TDP. The other two Reddys are Amarnath Reddy and Somireddy Chandra Mohan Reddy. In all, there are 16 ministers from general castes and ten from the Bahujans.

In all, four defectors were inducted. Governor Narasimhan who was criticised by Naidu for giving oath to Talasani Srinivasa Yadav as a minister in K Chandrashekhar Rao’s Cabinet in Telangana. It is remarkable that the Governor has been cheerful when he administered the oath to the defectors on Sunday morning.

The Muslims remain without representation in Naidu’s Cabinet. The tribal are not given an opportunity. No Brahmin or Kshatriya was picked up. There are six Kammas and four Reddys. Two Reddys, Bojjala Gopala Krishna Reddy and Palle Raghunatha Reddy, have been dropped to cap the number of Reddy ministers at four. Other ministers who have been dropped are Ravela Kishore Babu, Kimidi Mrinalini and Peethala Sujata. These were ministers by the grace of Naidu. They have no clout to stage a revolt. Bonda Uma and Anita who went out of the way to attack Jagan have not been rewarded.

The next elections cannot be influenced by the new or old ministers since they are not given any freedom to improve their image through independent decisions. They have to be dependent on the CM or Lokesh since he is going to be the most important minister after Naidu.

Lokesh has taken oath immediately after Kala Venkata Rao who is State president of the TDP. Seniors who were ministers earlier like Chandra Mohan Reddy and Pithani Satyanarayana had to wait for their turn after Lokesh. The changes effected today are pedestrian and there is no vision or philosophy or any moral message. It is amoral to induct defectors. It is against social justice to limit the number of representatives from the Bahujans who constitute 85 percent of the population. Two women were dropped and one was taken thus reducing their numbers. Ministers who have been facing allegations like Pathipati Pulla Rao, Narayana and Devineni Umamaheswara Rao have not been touched. Both Governor Narasimhan and Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu have not covered themselves with glory by this questionable exercise. The anti-defection law has been violated shamelessly.

Tweet from Chandrababu Naidu:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.