AK Jyoti To Be New Chief Election Commissioner of India

AK Jyoti had retired as the Chief Secretary of Gujarat when Prime Minister Narendra Modi was the Chief Minister of that State. He was appointed as an Election Commissioner in 2015.
Achal Kumar Jyoti

New Delhi: In the backdrop of Chief Election Commissioner, Nasim Zaidi, demitting office on Wednesday, the government on Tuesday appointed Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Jyoti as the new CEC. Jyoti will take over as the Chief Election Commissioner on July 6, a notification issued by the Law Ministry announced. He will be the 21st Chief Election Commissioner of India.

Sixty-four-year-old AK Jyoti had worked as Chief Secretary of Gujarat when Prime Minister Narendra Modi was its Chief Minister. Jyoti had retired in January 2013.

A 1975 batch Indian Administrative Service officer, Jyoti had joined the poll panel as Election Commissioner on May 8, 2015. He will be demitting the office of CEC on January 17 next year. A CEC or an EC can have tenure of six years or hold office till the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

Jyoti had also served as the Gujarat Vigilance Commissioner and worked in various capacities in the State, including as Chairman of the Kandla Port Trust between 1999 and 2004 and then Managing Director of the Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd (SSNNL). He was also the secretary in the industry, revenue and water supply departments of Gujarat.

Soon, the Union Government is expected to appoint one more Election Commissioner to fill up the vacancy caused by Zaidi’s retirement. Om Prakash Rawat is the other Election Commissioner on the poll panel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.