6 more ministers in KCR Cabinet

  • Koppula Eswar does not figure in list
  • Women denied representation
  • Swearing in at 11 am Tuesday
  • Talasani to resign from Assembly before swearing in

Hyderabad, December 16: So, those who won the last elections by attacking K Chandrasekhara Rao (KCR) and his party Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS)are joining him in the Cabinet on Tuesday. It is irony of Indian politics in general, Telugu politiciansa�� morality in particular, that has come into sharp focus through these bizarre developments.

Tummala Nageswara Rao, who held all important portfolios during the 9 years of Chandrababu Naidua��s rule, had joined the ruling TRS a few weeks ago. Talasani Srinivasa Yadav, a right-hand man of AP Chief Minister and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) president, had won from Sanatnagar constituency in city on TDP ticket and joined KCRa��s bandwagon only recently. He has decided to resign from the membership of the Assembly before taking oath as minister. Tummala lost to Puvvada Ajay in May 2014 elections and hence no need to resign. He has virtually brought Khammam district to the TRS fold.

The other TRS leader from Khammam, Jalagam Venkata Rao, who won from Kothagudem in the last general election, is being accommodated as Parliamentary Secretary, a new post created to circumvent the provision that not more than 11 percent of the total members of Assembly shall be there in the cabinet.

The other would be ministers from TRS select themselves. Jupalli Krishna Rao has been waiting in the wings since June 2nd when the first batch of ministers were sworn in. He gave up his membership of the Assembly which he won on Congress ticket and then joined the TRS before the general elections. In the last elections he won on the TRS ticket. He is a prominent rival to D K Aruna, a powerful minister who aspires to become TPCC president in the event of the party high command deciding to change the guard.

Chandulal is a tribal from Warangal district. He comes to the Cabinet as a representative of Adivasis who have substantial presence in the state of Telangana. His selection has robbed Konda Surekha of a chance to become a minister for the second time. She was a minister in Rajasekhara Reddya��s second cabinet and continued in the cabinet presided over by Rosaiah. She resigned from the Cabinet owing to her loyalty to YS Rajasekhara Reddy and joined the party, YSRCP, floated by his son YS Jaganmohan Reddy. Dr Laxma Reddy, another Reddy slated to become a minister, also comes from Mahaboobnagar.

Indrakaran Reddy did not show keen interest in joining the cabinet. There was talk in TRS circiles that he has recommended the name Sunitha from his district. But it seems he was persuaded to accept the offer. KCRa��s keenness to accommodate as many Reddys as possible is clearly visible. There would be four Reddys in KCRa��s cabinet handling important portfolios. Reddys are only 6-7 percent in Telangana population.

But Malas who comprise about 40 percent of Dalit population in the State have been given a cold shoulder. Koppula Eswara��s inclusion could have satisfied the Malas who are up in arms against KCR for nominating Eswar to the post of Chief Whip. Malamahanadu has organized protest march to Telangana Bhavan and encircled it shouting slogans that Eswar be made minister.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.