5th TANA Conference, Los Angeles (1985)

5th TANA Conference, Los Angeles (1985)

The conference was held with Dr. Raghavendra Prasad as the convener, Dr. Premchand Duggirala as the Co-convener, and Kakarala Chandrasekhara Rao as TANA president.

About 16 committees were formed with members from Los Angeles Telugu Community.A� The conference was held in Long Beach Convention Center with a budget of $100,000.

Parvathaneni Upendra, opposition leader in Lok Sabha, M.S. Koteswara Rao, minister, Vasantha Nageswara Rao Minister, C. Narayana Reddy, poet, Potturi Venkateswara Rao, journalist, P. L. Sanjeeva Reddy, managing director of Andhra Pradesh Industrial Development Corporation, Varlu, director at Andhra Pradesh Electronics Corporation, Dr. Yarlagadda Lakshmi Prasad, Chairman for Hindi Academy, and Dr. Kasaraneni Sadasiva Rao spoke in the conference.

Burrakatha and Harikatha attracted the participants. Kurmanatha Rao Dusi, Bandaru Parvathiswara Rao, V. Rama Rao, Mandapaka Sarada played active role.

Sobhanaidua��s Kuchipudi Dance was a tremendous success in the conference.A� Cultural programmes were directed by Nunna Nagabhushanam (Pittsburgh), K.V. Rao (New York).

Awards Banquet was separately arranged to save time on main stage. A moving stage was created to save time in transition between artist groups. About 100 Telugu young adults served in awards banquet.

Kavi Sammelanam – recital of poetry by various poets commenced in this conference for the first time. Astavadhanam was an added attraction in the conference. Business Conference took up serious discussions with several experts.A� The conference saved $30,000. Instead of May the Conference was held in July in America. The expenses of the six-member Delegation of artists that participated in TANA were met by Government of Andhra Pradesh. Shri. Krishnam Raju, movie icon, sent a delegation at his expense. Los Angeles Telugu community involved actively in the convention.

After the fifth TANA convention, Raghavendra Prasad was unanimously elected as TANAa��s Fifth President.A� TANA received wide publicity in India because of its service activities.

Vempati Chinna Sathyam, Sobha Naidu dance troops performed in the conference.A� TANA created and introduced the concept of continuing medical education discussions during conference.

Eminent persons who received awards during the conference under the chairmanship of Pemmaraju Venugopala Rao was Ratna Anil Kumar

A special session was held where serious discussions were conducted on commerce and trade. The discussion was centred about investing in various industries and business establishments. Ministers, industrialists, trade representatives contributed in the discussions.

Continuing medical education session was held with several doctors. The sessions paid tributes to Late Dr. Y. Nayudamma, who died in the plane accident. Women`s forum met separately in which Jyotsna Paruchuri, Bharathi Vayuvegula, Aruna Chilumula, Neti Suseela contributed their thoughts. Under youth forum discussions were held. Lakshmi Komanduri was in chair. Love marriages, opinions of parents, and aspects of weddings were the main themes in the discussions.



Writers in the souvenir: Pucha Annapurna, Viswanatha Achyutha Rayalu, Cherukuri Ramadevi, Vital Janaki Ramasastry, Vanguri Chitten raju, Isola Mani, Jayaprada Srinivasan, Vemuri Narasimhamurthy, Gidugu Lakshmi Dattu, K. Sakuntala, Vadlakonda Ravindra, Pudipeddi Lakshmana Murthy, Manepalli Satyanarayana, Lalla Devi, Prema Gayatri, Puranam Seetha, V.V.Suryanarayana, Paladugu Venkateswara Rao, Pappu Venugopala Rao, Cherukupalli Nehru, Akella Jagannadham, Malathi Chandur, B. Vidyasagar, Gollapudi Maruthi rao, Vemuri Venkateswara Rao, Pillutla Narasimha, Mahendra, Vemuri Venkateswara Rao, B.S.R. Krishna, Sama Rami Reddi, Puligadda Viswanatha Rao, C.S. Kumar, Ravi Kondala Rao, Pattinapu Gangadharam, Vadlakonda SwarajyaA� Lakshmi, Kota Sundara Rama Sarma, Puranam Subrahmanya Sarma.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.