2nd TANA Conference, Detroit a�� 1979

2nd TANA Conference, Detroit – 1979

TANA (Telugu Association of North America) officially came into vogue from the second conference onward. The conference was held in Detroit in 1979, under the president-ship of Kakarla Subba Rao. Tummala Madhava Rao was the convener.

A souvenir committee was constituted with Ramadevi Cherukuri and Achyuta Rao Ramineni. Another committee for art exhibition was formed with S.V. Rama Rao, Vijaya Emmadi as the organizers. Dr. G.M. Sastry, Prasada Rao Kollipara undertook the responsibility of publicity. Dr. Kakarala Chandrasekhara Rao was the Chairman of committee for nominations. Detroit Telugu people hosted the conference.

Poet Laureate Dasaradhi graced the occasion as a chief guest. Akkineni Nageswara Rao (actor), Avula Sambasiva Rao, chief justice of Andhra Pradesh High Court, Cherukuri Ramoji Rao, chief editor of Eenadu were the guest participants in the conference.

P.V. Narasimha Rao (Minister in Indira Gandhi`s cabinet during emergency) commenced the literary programmes. This conference specially discussed the problems of Telugu people living in America.

The special attraction in the conference was Harikatha of Veeragandham Venkata Subba Rao. The audiences enjoyed with spell bound attention. Mr. Subba Rao came to the conference with his own expenditure. About 2,000 people attended the conference.

The second TANA conference was followed the by-laws, which were passed by then. The member societies from various parts in the USA were allowed as official delegates.

The general body elected executive committee for 1979-81. Dr. Madhava Rao Tummala was the chairman. Dr. Bandaru Siva Ramireddy and Dr. Duggirala Premchand were vice-presidents. General Secretary was Tella Tirupataiah.

Dr. Guthikonda Ravindranath sent $1,000 (Half of the proceeds of the leftover funds from the First TANA Conference) to start the initial activities of the Second TANA conference. The rest was collected from conference registration fees and donor-patron categories.

The total amount collected was about $11,000, and the expenses were in the order of $7,000 and $4,000. Of this amount, $2,000 was given to the Detroit Telugu Association, the co-sponsoring organization of the second Telugu Conference, and $2,000 was given to TANA.

Directors: Dr. Kakarala Chandrasekhara Rao, Vadlamudi Sri Krishna, V.R. Anumolu, Mr. Vanitha Velgonda, Mrs. Lakshmi Cherukuri. This was the first elected executive committee.

TANA conference constituted TANA foundation. TANA board of directors accepted this decision. TANA was also recognized as a nonprofit institute. According to by-laws, every member should pay the fee depending upon the total numbers of the committee.

TANA was registered in Maryland, near Washington DC, with efforts of Durvasula Sastry, Yugundhar Hanumara, Vadlamudi Srikrishna and Jakkampudi Subbaraidu.


The conference souvenir was printed in Andhra Jyothi Press with the generous help of KLN. Prasad, general manager at Andhra Jyothi. Cherukuri Rama Devi was the president of Souvenir committee, and Puranam Subrahmanya Sarma helped her from India.

The title art was done by artist S.V. Rama Rao. The writers in this souvenir were Satyasai, B.S.R. Krishna, Nanduri Pardha Saradhi, Venudhar, S.V. Rama Rao, Ramadevi Galla, Puranam Subrahmanya Sarma, Nayagara Dance (Poem),A� Noma S.R. Sarma, Pathuri Nagabhushanam, K.V. Ramana Reddy, C. Venugopala Rao,A� Jakkampudi Subbaraidu,A� Bandaru Lakshma Reddy, Ravindranath Guttikonda, Rama Kakarala, and contributors from Telugu Associations in Chicago, New York, Detroit, and San Francisco.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.